Comilla University
Coatbari, Comilla
Establish Year: 2006

Contact Information:

Phone: 01556-980998, 0155-6426446

Fax: n/a



Vice Chancellor

Professor Dr. Amir Hussain Khan

Number of Students

Male Students: 663

Female Students: 374

Total Students: 1037

Hall/Hostel/Dormitory Facility

Male Hostel Facility: 272

Female Hostel Facility: 112

Number of Teachers

Full Time Teachers: 39

Part Time Teachers: 0

Total Teachers: 39

* This University has 3 PhD Holder Teachers.

Comilla University offers
Bachelor Programs
UGC approved and currently offered 11 Subjects
Masters Programs
UGC approved and currently offered 0 Subjects


The inhabitants of Comilla had a demand to establish a public university on the soil of Comilla for a long period of time. Although Comilla University was supposed to be established in 1962, the people from all walks of life had to wait for more than 40 years. The executive committee of the National Economic Council (ECNEC) approved one project for Establishment of twelve science and Technology Universities in the country during the period of 2001 and one of these was planned to be established in Comilla. But instead, the parliament of Independent Bangladesh granted a general university and its Charter in Comilla on May 8, 2006 as the 26th public university under which the university is being operated. This University formally started its journey on May 28, 2007 through orientation program of 2006-07 academic year with 300 students & 15 teachers enrolled in seven departments under four schools-Department of Mathematics under the School of Science, Department of English under the School of Arts & Humanities, Department of Economics and Department of Public Administration under the School of Social Science and three departments ( Accounting & Information Systems, Management, Marketing) under the School of Business. Every year new subjects are being introduced to boast up higher education and research to keep pace with the international landscape and modern world. Department of Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) was introduced in 2008-09 session and Three new departments (Department of Bangla, Department of Anthropology & Department of Information and Communication Technology (ICT)) have been opened in the running academic year 2009-10. Three new departments (Department of Physics, Department of Chemistry, Department of Statistics) are going to be opened from the academic session 2010-2011. At present Comilla University is running with more than one thousand five hundred students in different batches, 46 teachers and 75 stuffs devoted to conducting teaching and research.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: